Best Contributed Paper Award

For many years, audiences at contributed paper sessions in the Statistics and Data Science Education Section have been providing feedback to presenters. The goal of the evaluations and of the award is to encourage high quality contributed paper presentations. To be eligible for the award, a paper must be evaluated by at least 10 people.

The Section is grateful to the numerous audience members who take the time to fill out the evaluation form, to the session chairs who distribute and collect the forms, as well as to all our presenters.

The Best Contributed Paper Award was called the Ron Wasserstein Award prior to 2020.

Current and Past Recipients:

2023: Adam Cunningham (University at Buffalo)

2022: No award, not enough votes

2021: Allison Davidson (Muhlenberg College)

2020: No award, COVID-19 pandemic

2019: Liberty Vittert (University of Glasgow) 

2018: Jenny Green (Montana State University); Honorable mention: Sherry Hix (University of North Georgia)

2017: Elizabeth Jennings McGuffey (US Naval Academy)

2016: Robin Lock (St. Lawrence University)

2015: Eric Hare (Iowa State University) 

2014: Nancy Pfenning (University of Pittsburgh)  

2013: Allan Rossman (Cal Poly at San Luis Obispo) 

2012: Tanner Caverly, University of Colorado, Denver 

2011: Anna Helga Jonsdottir, University of Iceland

2010: Gerald J. Hahn, GE Global Research (retired)

2009: Shonda Kuiper, Grinnel College

2008Herbert Lee, University of California, Santa Cruz

2007Phyllis Curtiss and Kirk Anderson, Grand Valley State University

2006Harry Norton, Carolinas Medical Center

2005Bob Jernigan, American University

2004Edward R. Mansfield, B. Michael Adams, and Michael Conerly, University of Alabama

2003George Cobb, Mount Holyoke College

2002Oded Meyer and Marsha Lovett, Carnegie Mellon University

2001Brian Jones, Kenyon College

2000Christine Anderson-Cook and Sundar Dorai-Raj, Virginia Tech

1999Ginger Holmes Rowell, Middle Tennessee State University

1998Harry Norton, Carolinas Medical Center

1997Ann Watkins, California State University-Northridge

1996: Robin Lock, St. Lawrence University

1995: W. Robert Stephenson, Iowa State University

1994: Terrance P. Callanan and Hank Altland, Eastman Kodak Co.

1993: Edward R. Mansfield, University of Alabama

1992: G. Rex Bryce, Brigham Young University

1991: Edward R. Mansfield, M.D. Conerly, and Benjamin M. Adams, University of Alabama

1990: Michael N. Boyd, Pharmaceutical Research Associates

1989: Edward R. Mansfield, University of Alabama

1988: Robert L. Mason, Southwest Research Institute, and Richard F. Gunst, Southern Methodist University