Welcome to the Government Statistics Section

American Statistical Association

GSS offers ongoing dialogues with statisticians involved in the development of techniques and practices related to government statistics and products, advancing knowledge sharing of cutting-edge practices; provides opportunities for members to better understand the levels of quality, continuity, comparability, appropriateness, accessibility, relevance, and timeliness of governmental statistical activities and the role of professional statisticians in public programs; co-sponsors the Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award, the Wray Jackson Smith Scholarship, the Roger Herriot Award, and the Data Challenge; and sponsors the Pat Doyle Award. GSS also organizes topical workshops, events, and continuing educational offerings, offers a mentoring program, and creates professional development opportunities.



4th SEASONAL ADJUSTMENT PRACTIONERS WORKSHOP: The 4th SAPW was held June 8 and 9, with speakers from 10 international statistical agencies and central banks, four U.S. statistical agencies, four universities, and three private companies/consulting firms. Topics were diverse, with many focusing on the response to pandemic effects in time series estimates. The workshop included shorter lightning presentations for the first time this year. We have updated the https://community.amstat.org/governmentstatisticssection/conferences/pastconference210/seasonal-adjustment-practitioners-workshop-2022 to with the available presentations.


Join us at our GSS Business Meeting at JSM in Toronto! Monday, August 7, at 5:00 pm. More details to come.


Congratulations to our 2022 Award Recipients!

Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award: Monserrat Garcia-Closas & Barry Graubard, National Cancer Institute

Nominations for the 2023 Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award are currently being accepted. See the award page for more information.

Roger Herriot Award:  Timothy Smeeding (University of Wisconsin)

Pat Doyle Award: This year’s award goes to William Cecere “for his active and enthusiastic participation on the GSS board and GSS-sponsored committees.”

The winner of the 2023 Pat Doyle Award will be announced soon.


Newsletters under the Documents tab now include newsletters from June 1994 to Spring 2023. 
Meeting Minutes under the Documents tab now include minutes from 2011 through 2022. 
(See Archives for meeting minutes from August 2000 to December 2010.)

As GSS returns to a more-normal schedule of awards and events, we hope to see more members engaged in these activi-ties. If your organization might be interested in reaching GSS members while supporting our charter mission to “...promote the use of sound statistical theory and methods in the production of data at all levels of government - be it federal, state, local, or international; assist in the broad dissemination of those data; and encourage good statistical practice by all users,” consider a corporate sponsorship!

A typical corporate sponsorship opportunity would be connected to an award or an event, with your organization contributing funds and being thanked as a sponsor of the award or event. Some possible opportunities are:

• The GSS JSM business meeting, which invites all GSS mem-bers attending JSM;
• GSS awards; or
• GSS-sponsored webinars.​​​​

Latest Discussions

Log in to see this information

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.