Current Call for Nominations

Nominations Sought for 2024 COPSS Awards

Each year, the statistical profession recognizes outstanding members at the Joint Statistical Meetings in an awards ceremony organized by the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS). Nominations are an important part of the process, and everyone can contribute—from the newest to most senior members of our societies. We recognize excellence in our mentors, colleagues, and friends, and it is important to single out those who have made exceptional contributions to the profession. So take a few minutes, review the various COPSS Awards, and see if you can identify worthy individuals.

Nominations are being sought for the following COPSS awards, which will be presented at the 2024 Joint Statistical Meetings in Portland, OR, August 3-8, 2024.

The Presidents’ Award is presented yearly in recognition of outstanding contributions to the statistics profession. It is typically granted to an individual who has not yet reached his or her 41st birthday. In the special case of an individual who has received his or her statistically related terminal degree fewer than 12 years prior to the nomination deadline, the individual will be eligible if he or she has not yet reached his or her 46th birthday during the year of the award. Nominations should be sent in PDF format by December 15, 2023, to the Presidents’ Award Committee Chair (Bo Li).

The Distinguished Achievement Award and Lectureship (DAAL) is given yearly to an individual in recognition of outstanding contributions to statistical methods that have had significant impact on scientific investigations. The award winner will deliver a lecture at JSM. Eligible nominations should be sent in PDF format by December 15, 2023, to the DAAL Award Committee Chair (Limin Peng).

The Elizabeth L. Scott Award and Lectureship are presented biennially (even-numbered years) to an individual, male or female, who has helped foster opportunities in statistics for women.  Nominations should be submitted in PDF format by December 15, 2023, to the E.L. Scott Lecture and Award Committee Chair (Li Hsu).

The COPSS Emerging Leader Award was established in 2020 to recognize early career statistical scientists who show evidence of and potential for leadership and who will help shape and strengthen the field. The award is designed both to call attention to the efforts of these individuals and to provide a mechanism for them to share their vision for the field with each other and the statistical community. Nominations should be submitted in PDF format by December 15, 2023, to the Emerging Leader Award Committee Chair (David Corliss).

The membership of each award committee and the detailed award criteria
and nomination procedures can be found via the link to that specific award.

These awards are jointly sponsored by the American Statistical Association (ASA), Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS), Eastern and Western Regions of the International Biometric Society (ENAR and WNAR), and the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC). They represent a discipline-wide acknowledgment of the outstanding contributions of statisticians, regardless of their affiliations with any professional society.