Overview of Our Awards

Overview of COPSS Awards

Presidents’ Award

The COPSS Presidents' Award, established in 1976, is presented annually to a young member of the statistical community in recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession of statistics. The award consists of a plaque and a cash honorarium of $2,000. 
Deadline: December 15, 2022

COPSS Distinguished Achievement Award and Lectureship

The COPSS Distinguished Achievement Award and Lectureship was formerly known as the R. A. Fisher Award and Lectureship; it was renamed in 2020. The Award and Lectureship is a very high recognition of meritorious achievement and scholarship in statistical science and recognizes highly significant impact of statistical methods on scientific investigations. The award winner will receive a plaque and a cash honorarium of $2,000, and deliver the COPSS Distinguished Lecture at the Joint Statistical Meetings.
Deadline: December 15, 2022

Florence N. David Award and Lectureship

The Florence N. David Award, established in 2001, is sponsored jointly by COPSS and the Caucus for Women in Statistics. The award is presented biennially (odd years) to a female statistician who serves as a role model to other women by her contributions to the profession through excellence in research, leadership of multidisciplinary collaborative groups, statistics education, or service to the professional societies. The award winner will receive a plaque and a cash honorarium of $2,000, and deliver an F.N. David Lecture starting from 2019 at the Joint Statistical Meetings. 
Deadline: December 15, 2022 (for the 2023 award)

George W. Snedecor Award

The George W. Snedecor Award, established in 1976, is presented biennially (odd years) to honor an individual who has been instrumental in the development of statistical theory in biometry and with a noteworthy publication in biometry within three years of the date of the award. The award consists of a plaque and a cash honorarium of $2,000. 
Deadline: December 15, 2022 (for the 2023 award)

Elizabeth L. Scott Award and Lectureship

This Elizabeth L. Scott Award is presented biennially (even years) to recognize an individual, male or female, who exemplifies the contributions of Elizabeth L. Scott’s lifelong efforts to foster opportunities for women in statistics. The award winner will receive a plaque and a cash honorarium of $2,000, and deliver an E. L. Scott Lecture starting from 2020 at the JSM.
Deadline: December 15, 2023 (for the 2024 award)

COPSS Emerging Leader Award

The COPSS Emerging Leader Award was established in 2020 to recognize early-career statistical scientists who show evidence of and potential for leadership and who will help shape and strengthen the field. The award is designed both to call attention to the efforts of these individuals and to provide a mechanism for them to share their vision for the field with each other and the statistical community. The award winners will receive a plaque.
Deadline: December 15, 2022 

All COPSS awards are jointly sponsored by the American Statistical Association (ASA), Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS), Eastern and Western Regions of the International Biometric Society (ENAR and WNAR), and the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC). They represent a discipline-wide acknowledgment of the outstanding contributions of statisticians, regardless of their affiliations with any professional society. All awards are presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings.