Welcome to the Risk Analysis Section
American Statistical Association 


Chair's Message:

Greetings everyone!
I am very excited to serve as the 2023 Chair for the section. The members of our section are a diverse group of theoretical and applied statisticians with interests ranging from the economy and the environment to medicine and security. You can read more about our History and Mission. This year, we will have a series of webinars in diverse areas of applications with the first one scheduled on March 9th, a planned Invited Overview Lecture under the Bernard Harris Award, and annual students paper competitions, to name a few. Hope you will find them interesting and informative! Please keep checking the website for updates on these activities and lot more.

Do reach out to me at hzhang6@memphis.edu or any other member in the Executive Committee with your comments and ideas for future initiatives!

Remember to checkout our roundtables, contributed, topic-contributed as well as invited sessions at Joint Statistical Meetings!

We hope that you enjoy reading our web page and that you will decide to join us.

Best wishes,

Hongmei Zhang

2023 Chair



2024 Student Paper Award Competition
The Section is accepting submissions for our 2024 student paper competition through December 15, 2023. Up to three cash awards will be provided to help defray costs to attend the 2024 Joint Statistical Meetings. More information is available on the Student Paper Award Webpage.
2023 Bernard Harris Award Winner

The 2023 Bernard Harris Award recipient is Dr. Nilanjan Chatterjee, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Biostatistics and Medicine at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health and Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. His research focus is on modeling disease risk associated with genetic, lifestyle, biomarkers, and other factors, with the goal of improving disease prevention. He leads a team that consistently publishes in some of the most prestigious and high-impact journals across disciplines including statistics, genetics, and clinical medicine. Their work on breast cancer risk modeling has been widely covered by some influential media, including Time Magazine, LA Times, and NBC News. Dr. Chatterjee is the ASA Fellow with a number of prestigious awards including the recipient of the COPSS George W. Snedecor Award and Presidents' Award in 2011. In recognition of his award, Dr. Chatterjee will be giving an Introductory Overview Lecture at the 2023 Joint Statistical Meetings.

2023 Risk Analysis Section Student Paper Winners

Congratulations to the 2023 Section on Risk Analysis Student Paper Award Winners!

  • Winners:
    • Lang Zeng, Department of Biostatistics, University of Pittsburgh
    • Jingning Zhang, Department of Biostatistics, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Ronak Mehta, Department of Statistics, University of Washington
    • Xinyang Jiang, Department of Biostatistics and Data Science, The University of Texas Health Science Center

Winners will be presenting their work at this year's Joint Statistical Meetings. Thank you to Indranil Ghosh for organizing the competition and to the section members who served as reviewers.

Upcoming Events

Virtual Workshop: An Introduction to Risk Prediction

Ruth Pfeiffer, Biostatistics Branch, National Cancer Institute

October 23, 2023

A detailed abstract and registration information are available on our Upcoming Events page.

Latest Discussions

Log in to see this information

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.