Committee on Awards and Fellows

The mission of the committee is to recognize exemplary members for exceptional service and commitment to the American Statistical Association, the field of statistics, and national defense and security.  The committee is responsible for annually considering nominations for Fellow of the American Statistical Association, the SDNS Distinguished Achievement Award, the Outstanding Section Service Award, and for other awards presented by the ASA. The Chair is responsible for soliciting nominations for Fellow and the SDNS Distinguished Achievement Award from the Section membership.

  • Nominations for Fellow of the American Statistical Association can be submitted between October 1 and March 1 each year.
  • The SDNS Distinguished Achievement Award is presented at JSM, and notification of the winner should be made to ASA by July 1. 
  • The Outstanding Section Service Award is presented at JSM.

The committee members are the following:

Lyndsay Shand ( R&D Statistician at Sandia National Laboratory

Joseph Warfield
( Chief Scientist at Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory

Claire McKay Bowen ( Lead Data Scientist at Urban Institute