Welcome to the Nonparametric Statistics Section

American Statistical Association


The objective of this section is to provide a forum for the ASA members with interests in flexible statistical methods that make only minimal assumptions on the underlying population or modeling structure. Focus areas include, but are not limited to, distribution free, nonparametric and semiparametric methods, and methods for high-dimensional and functional data. The section embraces the myriad of methodologies, philosophies and applications that comprise contemporary nonparametric statistics, seeks to promote research, education and training in them and to build cooperative relationships within and outside the ASA with those who have interest in nonparametrics.

Latest News:

Congratulations to the newly elected officers of the Section!

  • Chair-Elect 2023: Aurore Delaigle (University of Melbourne)
  • Program Chair-Elect 2023: Lingzhou Xue (Pennsylvania State University)
  • Treasurer 2023 (Rotates to Secretary in 2024): Alexander Giessing (University of Washington)

Congratulations to the elected 2022 ASA Fellows who are members of the Section!

  • Kun Chen - University of Connecticut
  • Ali Shojaie - University of Washington
  • Jianhui Zhou - University of Virginia
  • Jose Zubizarreta - Harvard Medical School
Congratulations to the newly elected IMS Fellows who are members of the Section!

  • Zhezhen Jin, Columbia University
  • Bodhisattva Sen, Columbia University
  • Ryan Tibshirani, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jun Yan, University of Connecticut

ongratulations to the winners of the 2022 Student Paper Awards of the Section! 
2022 Student Paper Award Winners (alphabetical order): 
  • Satarupa Bhattacharjee, University of California, Davis
  • Jinming Li, University of Michigan
  • Waverly Wei, University of California, Berkeley
Other finalists (alphabetical order): 
  • Peter Macdonald, University of Michigan
  • Ziyue Wang, Rutgers University
  • Hyemin Yeon, Iowa State University
They will be presented in a special topic-contributed session at JSM 2022. In addition, a best presentation award winner will be selected from the finalists. The awards, including the best presentation award, will be given at the Business Meeting of the Section at JSM 2022.

The award committee used a double-blind review process, and each submission was reviewed by three committee members. The committee consists of Ingrid Van Keilegom (KU Leuven), Jingshen Wang (University of California, Berkely), Ganggang Xu (University of Miami), Jiwei Zhao (University of Wisconsin–Madison), and Lingzhou Xue (Penn State University).

Upcoming Events 

The International Conference on Statistical Foundations of Data Science and their Applications Conference, Princeton, NJ

The conference, co-sponsored by the Section, will be held from May 8-10, 2023. For more information, see https://fan60.princeton.edu/

2023 Joint Statistical Meeting, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

The conference will be held from August 5-10, 2023. For more information, see https://ww2.amstat.org/meetings/jsm/2023/

Latest Discussions

Log in to see this information

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.