Announcements List

  • Deadline for 2024 Natrella Scholarships Approaching!

    The application deadline for the 2024 Mary G. and Joseph Natrella Scholarships is approaching, but there is still time to apply!  The scholarship fund will support participation of two students at the Joint Research Conference to be held in Waterloo, ON, Canada from June 17-20, 2024. Applications are due on March 18, 2024.

    Scholarship recipients each receive a $3500 grant, a $500 travel stipend, complimentary registration for the conference and the pre-conference short course, and an opportunity to present their research work at the conference. The scholarships are presented annually by the ASA Quality and Productivity Section to honor the distinguished career of Mary G. Natrella, author of the well-known NBS/NIST handbook, Experimental Statistics, along with her husband Joseph. 

    Application is open to full-time students who are currently pursuing a master's or doctoral degree in an accredited college or university, and who have a demonstrated interest in applications of statistics to quality and productivity.

    Application instructions and forms can be found on the Natrella Scholarship web page. If you have any questions, please contact the Chair of the Scholarship Committee.

  • 2024 MHSS Student Paper Award Winners

    We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 MHSS Student Paper Award competition. 

    The quality of all submissions this year was very high. As a result, in addition to awarding two prizes for the top papers, we are also announcing two honorable mentions for exceptional scholarship. 

    The 2024 MHSS Student Paper Award Winners: 

    • Yixi Xu (Indiana University)
    • Xiaohui Yin (University of Connecticut)

    The 2024 MHSS Student Paper Award Honorable Mentions: 

    • Miyeon Yeon (Florida State University)
    • Xiaojing Sun (Purdue University)

    There will be an award ceremony at the Mental Health Statistics Section mixer at JSM 2024 to announce the winning submissions and honorable mentions and to present awards. We look forward to seeing you then!