The section has three major awards:

The first two of these awards carry a $250 cash prize, while the third carries a $500 cash prize. Deadline for nominations is May 1 of the award year. Any inquiries and all award nominations should be sent to tshs.asa@gmail.com.

The section also has a Best JSM Presentation Award, typically presented to an outstanding talk delivered at a section-sponsored Topic-Contributed or Contributed Session at JSM. The award carries a $100 cash prize. The list of recent winners is here: Best Contributed Presentation Award Winners.

Council of Sections Outstanding Section Service Award:

The Council of Sections (COS) presents an annual Outstanding Section Service Award. TSHS is invited to recommend a Section member on a three-year cycle (beginning 2021). The awardee is recognized with a certificate from the Council of Sections. For more information, please visit the TSHS nomination page (https://community.amstat.org/tshs/awards/outstandingsectionservice} and COS award page (https://community.amstat.org/councilofsections/sectionawards/cosaward) .

ASA-wide awards:
The ASA also presents two annual Waller Awards which recognize excellence in teaching of elementary statistics by early-career statisticians and outstanding long-time broad contributions in statistics education, respectively. Each award carries a $1000 cash prize. For more information, please visit the Waller Awards page.

ASA Fellow nominations:

The ASA Committee on Fellows recognizes a select group of ASA members each year with the honor of ASA Fellow. Only up to one-third of one percent of the total association membership may be elected each year. To be selected, nominees must have an established reputation and have made outstanding contributions to statistical science; see here for more information. Since 2019, TSHS has supported up to two nominations each year from among the Section membership. Nominee recommendations are welcomed up to October 1, the prior year. For more information, to recommend a nominee, or to volunteer to support a nomination, please email tshs.asa@gmail.com.