Leo Breiman Award

Leo Breiman Award

The Breiman Award Committee of Statistical Learning and Data Science Section invites applications for the senior award in honor of Professor Leo Breiman (1928-2005).
Breiman's work helped to bridge the gap between statistics and computer science, particularly in the field of machine learning. His most important contributions were his work on classification and regression trees, ensemble estimators, and random forests.
The Breiman Award Committee selects the Breiman senior scholar and junior scholar based on outstanding theoretical or methodological contributions to machine learning and/or computational statistics, contributions which have made a substantial, sustained impact on the subject and on practical applications. Nominations are accepted in odd-numbered years.
The award includes a monetary prize, a plaque, and an invited lecture at JSM two years later.

The Breiman junior scholar must have received a doctoral degree no earlier than 2009 and been a SLDS section member at least for two years, as of December 15, 2021.

The Breiman Award is given every two years.

Call for Nominations

Nominations for the 2022 Breiman Awards are due by December 15, 2021. A nomination packet including a nominating letter, up to three supporting letters (the nominator may also write one of the supporting letters), and curriculum vitae of the nominee should be sent to:

Breiman Award Committee Chair
Yufeng Liu, Professor of Statistics
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
yfliu AT email.unc.edu

Leo Breiman Award Winners

A list of SLDS Breiman Award Winners is as follows:

Senior Award Winners

2024 Robert Tibshirani, Stanford University
2022 Susan Murphy, Harvard University
2020 Trevor Hastie, Stanford University
2018 Bin Yu, University of California, Berkeley
2016 Grace Wahba, University of Wisconsin Madison


Junior Award Winners

2024 Mladen Kolar, University of Southern California
        Rahul Mazumder, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2022 Jing Lei, Carnegie Mellon University 
         Ali Shojaie, University of Washington 
2020 Daniela Witten, University of Washington
2018 Yichao Wu, University of Illinois at Chicago
2016 Yufeng Liu, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
         Ming Yuan, University of Wisconsin