News Archive

  • Nine MHSS members become ASA Fellows

    This year, nine MHSS members were selected to become ASA fellows. We congratulate

    • Hongyuan Cao
    • Guoqing Diao
    • Birol Emir
    • Tanya Pamela Garcia
    • Samiran Ghosh
    • Douglas D. Gunzler  
    • John Kornak
    • Michelle Shardell
    • Min Zhang

    Please join us in congratulating them on this accomplishment. There will be a special acknowledgement of these members at the Mental Health Statistics Section Mixer (co-hosted with the Heath Policy Statistics Section) at JSM. 

  • Deadline for 2024 Natrella Scholarships Approaching!

    The application deadline for the 2024 Mary G. and Joseph Natrella Scholarships is approaching, but there is still time to apply!  The scholarship fund will support participation of two students at the Joint Research Conference to be held in Waterloo, ON, Canada from June 17-20, 2024. Applications are due on March 18, 2024.

    Scholarship recipients each receive a $3500 grant, a $500 travel stipend, complimentary registration for the conference and the pre-conference short course, and an opportunity to present their research work at the conference. The scholarships are presented annually by the ASA Quality and Productivity Section to honor the distinguished career of Mary G. Natrella, author of the well-known NBS/NIST handbook, Experimental Statistics, along with her husband Joseph. 

    Application is open to full-time students who are currently pursuing a master's or doctoral degree in an accredited college or university, and who have a demonstrated interest in applications of statistics to quality and productivity.

    Application instructions and forms can be found on the Natrella Scholarship web page. If you have any questions, please contact the Chair of the Scholarship Committee.

  • 2024 MHSS Student Paper Award Winners

    We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 MHSS Student Paper Award competition. 

    The quality of all submissions this year was very high. As a result, in addition to awarding two prizes for the top papers, we are also announcing two honorable mentions for exceptional scholarship. 

    The 2024 MHSS Student Paper Award Winners: 

    • Yixi Xu (Indiana University)
    • Xiaohui Yin (University of Connecticut)

    The 2024 MHSS Student Paper Award Honorable Mentions: 

    • Miyeon Yeon (Florida State University)
    • Xiaojing Sun (Purdue University)

    There will be an award ceremony at the Mental Health Statistics Section mixer at JSM 2024 to announce the winning submissions and honorable mentions and to present awards. We look forward to seeing you then! 

  • New Homepage of Our Chapter

    Please visit our new homepage for more news and updates.

  • Student Paper Competition

    Submissions are now being accepted for the 2024 Biopharmaceutical Student Paper Awards. These awards are presented annually during the Biopharmaceutical Section open business meeting to be held at the 2024 Joint Statistical Meetings in Portland, Oregon. Winners will present their paper in one of the contributed paper sessions at JSM and are encouraged to attend the section’s business meeting to receive their awards in person. The awards will be $2000 for 1st place, $1500 for 2nd place, and $1000 for 3rd place. Honorable mention awards ($500) may also be given at the discretion of the Student Paper committee.

    Student research papers with statistical content applicable to the biopharmaceutical arena are eligible for consideration. Submissions are judged for clarity, contribution to statistics, and biopharmaceutical applicability. Suitable topics include methodologies in preclinical and clinical trials, epidemiology studies of medical products safety, genetic studies predicting clinical intervention response, laboratory and toxicological data analyses, data science and analytics, methods for high-dimensional data from high-throughput screening, and nonlinear pharmacokinetic modeling.

    Both a complete paper and a “blinded” paper should be submitted electronically in pdf format by December 1, 2023. The submission email should contain the name, school, and contact information of the student.

    In the blinded version, the student’s name and affiliation/school should not appear and names for references should not be included in the text (numbers for references should be mentioned in text; names should appear on reference page only). References that would unblind a reviewer to the student’s name or the student’s advisor/collaborator should be removed and replaced with “reference removed.”

    The length of the student paper should not exceed 20 pages of double-spaced text with no more than five additional pages of appendices (25 pages maximum). Because of the volume of submissions received, the length limitation will be strictly enforced. Consider a manuscript style for the paper to facilitate publication in the proceedings for JSM or another appropriate journal.

    Papers must be submitted no later than one year after graduation and reflect research completed while a student. The papers should not have appeared in a journal at submission. Submissions should be labeled “Biopharmaceutical Section Student Paper Submission” and sent to  Bo Huang, Biopharmaceutical Section JSM 2024 program chair. In addition to submitting a paper for judging, winners also must submit an abstract of the work as a contributed paper for JSM. All participants will be notified prior to the abstract submission deadline as to whether they have won or not. Requirements for contributed paper submission must be followed in addition to those for the student paper submission.

  • Three MHSS members become ASA Fellows

    Three MHSS members have been selected to be Fellows of the American Statistical Association. We congratulate

    Booil Jo - Stanford University
    Robert Todd Krafty - Emory University
    Tyler Harris McCormick - University of Washington

    Please join us to celebrate at the Mental Health Statistics Section Mixer (co-hosted by the Health Policy Statistics Section).

    Date: Monday, August 7 2023
    Time:  6:30 PM – 9:30 PM
    Location: Cactus Club Cafe 
    77 Adelaide Street West, Toronto, ON M5H 1P9

    The mixer is open to members of both sections, friends, and other enthusiasts. There will be a short presentation honoring the student paper competition award winners and new ASA Fellows.