Roger Herriot Award

Roger Herriot Award

Roger Herriot was the Associate Commissioner of Statistical Standards and Methodology at the U.S. National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) when he died in 1994. Prior to his service at NCES, he also held several positions at the U.S. Census Bureau, including Chief of the Population Division. Soon after his death, the Social Statistics and Government Statistics Sections of the American Statistical Association (ASA) along with the Washington Statistical Society (a chapter of ASA) established the Roger Herriot Award for Innovation in Federal Statistics. The award is intended to recognize individuals who, like Roger, develop unique and innovative approaches to the solution of statistical problems in federal data collection programs.

The award is intended to reflect the special characteristics that marked Roger Herriot's career including:

  • Dedication to the issues of measurement;
  • Improvements in the efficiency of data collection programs; and
  • Improvements and use of statistical data for policy analysis.
The award is not limited to senior members of an organization, nor is it to be considered as a culmination of a long period of service. Individuals or teams at all levels within Federal statistical agencies, other government organizations, nonprofit organizations, the private sector, and the academic community may be nominated on the basis of their contributions. As innovation often requires or results from teamwork, team nominations are encouraged. Team innovations often are more lasting, resulting in real paradigm shifts, not just one-off improvements. For an example, see the 1998 Herriot (team) award.

The award consists of a $1,000 honorarium and a framed citation, which will be presented at a ceremony at the Joint Statistical Meetings. The Washington Statistical Society will also host a seminar given by the winner on a subject of his or her own choosing. For more information, see Roger Herriot Award. 

Nominator will email any member of the Herriot award committee the following:

  • Nomination letter: should include references to specific examples of the nominee's contributions to innovation in Federal statistics. These contributions can be to methodology, procedure, organization, administration, or other areas of Federal statistics, and need not have been made by or while a Federal employee.
  • Up to three supporting letters
  • CV for the nominee: should include current contact information. If a team is nominated, CVs for all team members should be included.

Nominations are due by April 1, 2021.  For questions on the award or the award process, contact the 2021 Roger Herriot Award Committee.

Stephanie Eckman (chair)                  Social Statistics Section
Jay Clark                                    Washington Statistical Society
Kevin Scott                           Government Statistics Section

Past Award Recipients:

  • 1995 - Joseph Waksberg (Westat)
  • 1996 - Monroe Sirken (National Center for Health Statistics)
  • 1997 - Constance Citro (National Academy of Sciences)
  • 1998 - Roderick Harrison (U.S. Census Bureau), Clyde Tucker (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
  • 1999 - Thomas Jabine (SSA, EIA, CNSTAT)
  • 2000 - Donald Dillman (Washington State University)
  • 2001 - Jeanne Griffith (OMB, NCES, NSF)
  • 2002 - Daniel Weinberg (U. S. Census Bureau)
  • 2003 - David Banks (FDA, BTS, NIST)
  • 2004 - Paula Schneider (U.S. Census Bureau)
  • 2005 - Robert E. Fay III (U.S. Census Bureau)
  • 2006 - Nathaniel Schenker (National Center for Health Statistics)
  • 2007 - Nancy J. Kirkendall (Office of Management and Budget)
  • 2008 - Elizabeth Martin (U.S. Census Bureau)
  • 2009 - Lynda Carlson (National Science Foundation)
  • 2010 - Katharine Abraham (University of Maryland)
  • 2011 - Michael Messner (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
  • 2012 - Paul Biemer (RTI International)
  • 2013 - The 1973 CPS-IRS-SSA Exact Match Study
  • 2014 - Longitudinal Employer Household Dynamics study; Abowd, Haltiwanger, Lane
  • 2015 - Jennifer Madans (National Center for Health Statistics)
  • 2016 - Kathleen S. Short (U.S. Census Bureau) and Thesia I. Garner (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
  • 2017 - John Eltinge (US Census Bureau)
  • 2018 - Bill Bell (US Census Bureau)