ASA Connect

 View Only

Congratulations! The 2017 SPAIG Award Winners (Presented During JSM 2017)

  • 1.  Congratulations! The 2017 SPAIG Award Winners (Presented During JSM 2017)

    Posted 08-21-2017 10:41

    On Behalf of the ASA Statistical Partnerships Among Academe, Industry & Government Committee (SPAIG)

    2017 SPAIG Award Winners (Presented During JSM 2017)


    The SPAIG Award, established in 2002, is sponsored by the SPAIG committee of the ASA to recognize outstanding partnerships between academe, industry, and government organizations, as well as to promote new partnerships among these organizations. The award is distinct from other ASA awards in that it recognizes outstanding collaborations between organizations, while recognizing key individual contributors.

    In 2017, there are two top SPAIG Award winners, which have equally demonstrated and exemplified this award to recognize outstanding statistical partnerships across two or more sectors. Congratulations!

    We hope that you and your collaborative partners would consider submitting your SPAIG nomination packages early next year!

    Winner #1

    The National Science Foundation-Census Research Network (NCRN), established in 2011, has been a highly successful collaboration between multiple universities and the U.S. Census Bureau. It aimed to provide support for conducting interdisciplinary research and educational activities on methodological questions of significance to the broader research community and to the federal statistical system.

    This collaboration has won the SPAIG Award due to its broad impacts based on many NCRN research activities over the past six years. The SPAIG Committee was impressed by the diverse achievements including, the novel method that significantly improves the accuracy of the tabulations from the Economic Census, the production of synthetic business micro-datasets, and the effective training of the next generation of statisticians. As evidenced by strong letters of support, the NCRN was an innovative collaboration that has had comprehensive benefits for students, researchers, and the broader statistical community.  The committee would like to congratulate the key contributors on their outstanding collaboration. They are:

    (1) Robert Groves (Georgetown University)

    (2) Myron Gutmann (University of Colorado)

    (3) Cheryl Eavey (National Science Foundation)

    (4) Daniel Weinberg (DHW Consulting)

    (5) Matthew D. Shapiro (on behalf of the University of Michigan)

    (6) Bruce Spencer (on behalf of Northwestern University)

    (7) Lars Vilhuber (on behalf of Cornell University)

    (8) Jerome P. Reiter (on behalf of Duke University)

    (9) Scott H. Holan (on behalf of University of Missouri)

    (10) Kristin Olson (on behalf of University of Nebraska - Lincoln)

    (11) William Eddy (on behalf of Carnegie Mellon University)

    (12) David Folch (on behalf of University of Colorado/University of Tennessee)


    Winner #2

    The Laboratory of Analytical Sciences (LAS), established in 2013 on the North Carolina State University (NCSU) campus, has been a highly productive collaboration between NCSU and the National Security Agency (NSA). By combining the different viewpoints and skillsets of researchers, developers, and analysts across multiple university, government, and industrial partners, LAS has advanced the security science needs of the NSA. Recently, LAS has grown from a one agency/one university experiment to a multi-agency/multi-university/multi-company/multi-national collaboration.

    The breadth and depth of the projects that LAS has collaborated on during the short time period from May 2013 to early 2017 are both impressive and impactful. Different organizations across multiple countries have provided strong support as part of the nomination package. The SPAIG Committee was also impressed by the extensive and diverse nature of LAS, such as the engagement of many different kinds of scientists, the massive embedding of NSA personnel with academic and industry researchers, and the widespread appearance of LAS research outputs in statistical and other journals and professional meetings. The committee would like to congratulate the key contributors on their outstanding collaboration. They are:

    (1) Alyson Wilson (North Carolina State University)

    (2) Michael Bender (Laboratory for Analytic Science)

    (3) Forrest Allen (North Carolina State University)

    (4) Kay Moore (Laboratory for Analytic Science)

    (5) David Harris (Department of Defense)



    ·       About the Award and Instructions:

    ·       Past Winners:

    ·       Committee and Officers:

    ·       SPAIG Website: