ASA Connect

View Only
  • 1.  Internship with a Twist

Posted 12-18-2018 15:59

Hello All,

I have been a student-member of ASA for a couple of years now but have not been particularly active. I am reaching out in hopes of finding a friendly statistician to help a soon-to-be-statistician, me.

I have to find myself an internship to fulfill one of the requirements for the Master's in Statistical Science that I am earning at present. I am planning on doing said internship for the Summer Semester of 2019, thus my department desires that my paperwork be submitted early in the Spring of 2019 term which starts in a couple of weeks. At present, my current "environmental inconvenience" presents a dilemma for me; I am a distant student who is at the moment incarcerated in the state of Iowa. I will not bore you here with details, but if you want to read about how a former street kid turned wannabe statistician, you can read part of my story at http://www.arrestedscholarship.com under the tab Petition in Support of Author's Clemency or the essay Of plantation, slaves, and overseers.

Given my situation I realize that we are presented with a unique challenge but not an impossible one, were someone willing to assist--I will be prohibited from intern work such as coffee runs and picking up dry cleaning, but I think that we can pull off the required analysis part. My department chair says, "For students pursing the MS degree at a distance, most student do an internship, where they work with someone willing to supervise them on some projects related to statistics." He states further, "…they just need to be able to help you learn about some aspects of statistical practice which could include data collection, data management, data analysis, etc."

Looking for any help or advice I can get. Thanking you in advance.

------------------------------
    Johnny Pippins
    Master's Candidate in Statistical Science
    University of Idaho

• 2.  RE: Internship with a Twist