ASA Connect

View Only
  • 1.  DATA ANALYSIS

Posted 07-06-2016 10:43

Hello all.

I am a PhD student needing some help. I was asked the question below for an analysis project.

1. Does the addition of Antithrombin Concentrate (ATIII) decrease the heparin infusion rates overall?

Naturally, this sounded to me like the outcome variable is heparin infusion (Yes/No or 1/0).   I thought I run a logistic regression. However when I received the data set the outcome variable (heparin) is continuous and all the covariates are also continuous. Now I am thinking to myself should I stratify Heparin from the median and still run a logistic regression? ( or should proceed with linear regression?)
    Thanks for input.

Karl Stessy Bisselou

Ph.D Candidate

College of Public Health  |  Department of Biostatistics

| COPH | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Flickr

The information in this e-mail may be privileged and confidential, intended only for the use of the addressee(s) above. Any unauthorized use or disclosure of this information is prohibited. If you have received this e-mail by mistake, please delete it and immediately contact the sender.

• 2.  RE: DATA ANALYSIS

Posted 07-07-2016 08:12

I recommend talking with the clinician about how they intend to use the information from the study.  They may be looking at decrease in heparin dose (continuous outcome) with increasing amounts of the other drug, and may not be interested in heparin as a binary outcome.

------------------------------
    Nancy Buderer, MS
    Consulting
    Biostatistician, Program Evaluator, Research Consultant

• 3.  RE: DATA ANALYSIS

Posted 07-07-2016 08:50

Hi,