ASA Connect

View Only
  • 1.  Stratified sampling of regions

Posted 02-20-2018 06:32
    Edited by Lina Massou 02-20-2018 10:12
    Hi all, 
    I'm new in sampling methods and I'd like your advice. I have about 210 local offices in 20 regions, with available data for each one of these offices about whether they are rural/urban and their size (large/ small). I'd like to select a sample of these offices according to these strata (urban/rural and large/small) but I don't know how to define the sample size and then how to carry out the stratified sampling Any suggestions or literature guidance?

Best regards, 

Lina

------------------------------
    Lina Massou
    Research Associate
    University of Cambridge

• 2.  RE: Stratified sampling of regions

Posted 02-21-2018 09:12
    Hi Lina,

If only calculating sample sizes was so simple! To estimate the sample size needed, you need to take into account what level of precision you need for your estimates. For example, are you looking to measure large differences (say 15 percentage points) or small/rare differences (say 2 percentage points)?

When it comes to stratified sampling, you need at least 2 responding PSUs per stratum to be able to estimate variance. If you are looking at 20 regions x 2 urbanicity x 2 size components, you're at 80 strata, so you need a minimum of 160 PSUs (2 per stratum) sampled. This is also assuming that each stratum has at least 2 PSUs (local offices) in it. You might want to collapse strata depending on the types of analyses you need to do and your budget for the number of local offices you can go to.