ASA Connect

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Where do I find help for homework assignments

• 1.  Where do I find help for homework assignments

Posted 05-28-2018 14:54

Howdy, 

I just joined the ASA community. so I am totally new. 

Currently, I am studying statistics in Belgium and would like to know where to ask questions related to my assignments and homework to this community. 

Are there any rules I need to follow for doing this? 
    Is there a specific place on the website dedicated to this? 

Appreciate the answers and any help you can offer. 

Have a nice day, 

------------------------------
    Donald Van Marcke
    KU Leuven

• 2.  RE: Where do I find help for homework assignments

Posted 05-29-2018 14:15

Homework assignment help is controversial. Many will not help on homework assignments. Many can spot such questions fairly easily, since the problems are often simplistic.

Why do many object to helping on homework?

1) If the help is too extensive, the helper is basically committing academic fraud. Many find this uncomfortable.

2) The teacher is paid to assist the student. If there are questions about assignments, the teacher should be asked.

3) In advanced classes, the student is asked hard questions to force them to solve these problems. If others solve the problems for the student, this is really cheating the student of an opportunity to learn.

4) A teacher needs to know about lessons that are not understood.

For these and other reasons, many will not answer homework questions.

Paul A. Thompson, Ph.D., PSTAT®   

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Confidentiality Notice: This e-mail message, including any attachments,
    is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain
    privileged and confidential information.  Any unauthorized review, use,
    disclosure or distribution is prohibited.  If you are not the intended