ASA Connect

View Only
  • 1.  When to apply for jobs?

Posted 03-14-2019 06:40
    Greetings, 
        I am a 3yrd PhD Epi/Biostat student, I should be finished by this December of Spring 2020. When is an appropriate time to start looking for jobs? Which job engine do you all use? I've noticed some fantastic opportunities at Eli Lilly, but wanted to be as competitive as possible without missing out on a wonderful position?

thanks
    brian

------------------------------
    Brian Kovacic
    Full-time PhD Biostat/Epi Student
    University of Kentucky

• 2.  RE: When to apply for jobs?

Posted 03-15-2019 09:30
    Brian,

It's a great question.  I think it's never too early to start networking and making connections, and if there are places you're interested in working, you should reach out and try to make some contacts there, even if you're not applying to one specific job opening.

As for applying to a specific job posting: academic job searches happen very slowly and it's reasonable to apply as early as a full year before you are going to graduate (maybe even more).  I started talking to people at least a year before completing my PhD, just to feel out their needs and whether my skills and interest was a good fit for them.  Industry positions are likely to be filled more "on the spot" (i.e. if an insurance company has a posting up today, they probably need someone sooner rather than later, not a PhD student who is still a year away from graduating) but I still think it's okay to put in an application; if they interview you and like you, it could turn into an opportunity down the line if they have another opening.

Hope this helps!

Andrew D. Althouse, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Medicine
    Center for Research on Health Care Data Center (CRHC-DC)
    Center for Clinical Trials & Data Coordination (CCDC)
    University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
    200 Meyran Avenue, Suite 300
    Pittsburgh, PA 15213
    Email: ada62@pitt.edu