ASA Connect

View Only
  • 1.  Which market does data science belong to, winner-take-all or auction?

Posted 05-31-2017 12:43
    I am a PhD student in Biostatistics. I have some questions about career in data science after reading the book So Good They Can't Ignore You By Cal Newport.
    Career capital is defined as a skill that's equally rare and valuable.
    The author said there were 2 types of markets, winner-take-all and auction.

• Winner-take-all market has only one type of career capital available. For example, in the field of television writing, quality of scripts is the single career capital. Another example is blogging field. It requires consistently high quality contents alone.
    • Auction market has many different types of career capital and each person might generate a unique collection.

Questions:

1. Which market does data science belong to?
    2. If you think data science has only one career capital that a skill is equally rare and valuable, i.e., winner-take-all market, what is that skill?
    3. If you think data science is auction market (each person might generate a unique collection of career capital),
    1. List each career capital and evaluate it based on the criteria: whether it is rare and whether it is valuable.
    2. Order your list of career capitals by the criteria
    3. Describe persons who have different unique collection of career capitals
    After reading the several posts in the forum and articles in ASA magazine, I got a list of skills and am not sure how to evaluate them because of lack of experience in industry. It is not a good answer that all of them are equally important. For me, quality is over quantity. I really do not have time to polish all skills.

• hands on real-world data
    • programming
    • presentation
    • communication
    • writing
    • networking
    Skills outside the list above are welcomed. But sound and considerate answers are more welcomed.