ASA Connect

View Only
  • 1.  Graduate School Decision Help

Posted 08-04-2016 19:04

I graduated Binghamton University with a B.A in math. After graduation, I pursued the actuarial field. During my pursuit, I realized that I am interested in the statistical elements of actuary science rather than the insurance/ actuarial elements. I am now looking to go to graduate school for statisticswithin a year and am currently studying for GREs. I am unsure when I should pursue a degree.

I have a few options.

1-Binghamton accepted me for this fall despite applying in August. The program costs only 20k for both years. The problem is that Binghamton has no reputation for statistics as it is a brand new program. Furthermore, they told me that they have no job network or connections.

2-I can apply for this Spring. In the interim I can take additional relevant coursework and maybe pursue SAS certification. However, only a fraction of the schools have Spring programs. I found 11 programs 8 of which are ranked by U.S News. I can probably find a few more.

3-I can apply for data analyst and other entry  jobs for this year and apply for the following fall. However I would only want to pursue this, if I can efficiently obtain a job since it would be for a potentially short duration.

Also note Binghamton is a 2 year program. Many of the graduate directors told me their program is 1.5 years.

What are your thoughts? How important is the network of the graduate program?

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.

------------------------------
    Daniel Blickstein

• 2.  RE: Graduate School Decision Help

Posted 08-05-2016 07:42
    If you haven't seen it yet, you (and others) interested in a graduate degree in statistics might find the series of four blog posts from  by Michael Lopez to be of interest.

--
    Scott Nestler, PhD, CAP, PStat
    Associate Teaching Professor
    IT, Analytics, & Operations
    University of Notre Dame
    574.631.8117 (Office)