Discussion: View Thread

• 1.  Potential Masters Notebook articles

Posted 03-21-2016 17:08

Hello Everyone,

I wanted to give you an update on the interest from the Section on Statistical Consulting about publishing an article. Here are the responses I have so far.

Mary Crissey

for the past 2 years i have been employed at a consulting firm focused on helping LAWYERS present TRUTH with accurate and statistically verified data.

I have a Master of science degree in Operations research and management Science and spent 7 years employed with SAS promoting their analytic software.
    will share real world successes
    Andrew Ekstrom

I am a graduate student in a pair of MS programs. One is in Business Analytics and U of Mich Dearborn. The other is an MA in Applied Stats at EMU. On top of that, I already have an MS in applied and computational mathematics from U of M-Dearborn.

Already has 2 Master's degrees. One master’s degree is in Applied and Computational Mathematics. the second Master’s degree, I had to combine coursework from 2 different master’s degrees into one.

still working out the topic: maybe something like "What makes a statistician?"

1)      Some places don’t care what you know. Only the type of degree is important.

2)      Some places feel experience in a multitude of areas is important and won’t consider you otherwise.

3)      Data scientists use DBMS systems for data analysis; Statisticians believe using your desktop for everything is the right way to go, for everything.

Justin Dvorak I completed my M.S. in Biostatistics last May and will be starting my Ph.D. this fall.  Much of my work involves data management and developing automation algorithms for data cleaning, merging, and analysis.  Because of my computer-science background, I am interested in factors that may influence a student’s conceptualization of statistical programming, e.g., software packages used, programs of instruction, or even previous programming coursework.