Outstanding Teaching Award

The Outstanding Teaching Award is an annual award. This award recognizes an outstanding statistics educator and mentor in the health sciences. A nominee must be a current member of the Section on the Teaching of Statistics in the Health Sciences (TSHS) at the time of the nomination. Prior recipients of either this award or the Section’s Distinguished Achievement Award are ineligible. All nominations must be made with the consent of the nominee and self-nominations are allowed. The recipient receives a certificate and a $250 cash award, and is recognized at the section's annual Business Meeting and Mixer (held at JSM). Consideration for this award requires:

  • Nomination letter summarizing the nominee's teaching/training and mentoring record in the health sciences (maximum 1 single-spaced page).
  • Copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae. Please use color to highlight components of the CV particularly associated with teaching or statistics education research.
  • Statement of the nominee's philosophy of teaching (max 1 single-spaced page).
  • One letter of reference summarizing his/her teaching/training and mentoring accomplishments (maximum 1 page single spaced).
  • Nominee must be a current member of the Section on the Teaching of Statistics in the Health Sciences (TSHS).

Review criteria include:

  1. The length and extent of teaching/training activities;
  2. diversity of types of formal classes taught (introductory, advanced, seminars, etc);
  3. mentoring (and accomplishments of students/mentees); and
  4. involvement in training program development and implementation (graduate programs, summer programs, etc).

Deadline for nominations is May 1 of the award year. Nominations should be sent to tshs.asa@gmail.com.

 Past recipients:

 Year  Recipient
Hadiza GaladimaOld Dominion University. . See our blog post about the 2023 award winners.

Tom Braun, University of Michigan. See Oct 2022 blog.
Mary Sammel, University of Colorado
Heather Hoffman, George Washington University



Mike Jiroutek, Campbell University



Jacqueline Milton-HicksBoston University School of Public Health (L)

Amy NowackiCleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute (R)

See blog post https://tshsblog.wixsite.com/main/single-post/2018/08/15/Congrats-to-Two-Outstanding-Teachers




John Gatta, Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine (See Summer 2017 newsletter)



Michael D. Swartz, University of Texas School of Public Health  (See Summer 2016 newsletter)

Bart Holland, Rutgers University (see Summer 2014 newsletter)
Roger D. Vaughan, Columbia University (see Summer 2013 newsletter)
 2012    D. Keith Williams, University of Arkansas (see Summer 2012 newsletter)
 2011    Lisa Sullivan, Boston University (see Summer 2011 newsletter)
 2010    John McGready, Johns Hopkins University