Distinguished Achievement Award

The Distinguished Achievement Award was established in 2005 on a biennial basis and has become available for presentation annually beginning in 2021. This award recognizes a Section member who has provided outstanding long-term service to the Section and the ASA. 

Consideration for this award requires a formal nomination by a Section member other than the nominee -- self-nominations are not allowed. A nominee must be a member of the ASA, and preferably of the Section, at the time of nomination. Prior recipients are ineligible. 

The nomination letter should summarize the nominee’s contributions to the Section and the ASA in general, including officer positions, committee membership, development and promotion of initiatives, organization of events at JSM, and other related activities. In the review of applications, activities directly related to the TSHS mission are given more weight than activities related to the ASA at large.

The recipient receives a certificate and a $250 cash award, and is recognized at the Section's annual Business Meeting and Mixer (typically held at JSM). Deadline for nominations is May 1 of the award year.

Please direct any inquiries and nominating submissions to tshs.asa@gmail.com.

Past recipients:


Jose-Miguel Yamal, University of Texas School of Public Health. See our blog post about the 2023 award winners.

Scott Evans, George Washington University. See Oct 2022 blog post.
Felicity Enders, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Constantine Daskalakis,  Thomas Jefferson University



Carol Bigelow, University of Massachusetts Amherst. (See Summer 2017 newsletter)


   Cyndy Long, Palmer College for Chiropractic (see Summer 2013 newsletter)


Ed Gracely, Drexel University (see Summer 2011 newsletter)


Robert Oster, University of Alabama (see Summer 2009 newsletter)


Ralph O'Brien, Case Western Reserve University (see Fall 2007 newsletter)


Stephen Looney, Georgia Health Sciences University (see Summer 2005 newsletter)